Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity

Chancellor Blumenthal with recipients of the 2016 Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity

The Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity honor and showcase people and programs that have made outstanding contributions to furthering diversity, inclusion and excellence at UC Santa Cruz. Eligible recipients include undergraduate and graduate students, student organizations, academic, and staff employees, campus units (e.g., offices, departments or divisions) and academic or administrative programs.

UCSC has many individuals and units that contribute significantly to our diversity and inclusion efforts. Some examples of achievements include: student-to-student outreach programs; developing cutting-edge recruitment programs; developing successful mentoring and retention programs; providing opportunities for academic and staff employees to advance in their careers; influencing peers on decisions that affect equal employment opportunity, affirmative action, inclusion and diversity at UC Santa Cruz; and advancing the understanding and field of diversity through research, publications and other media.

Diversity recognition and award programs offer important opportunities to promote and institutionalize diversity and honor those who actualize our Principles of Community. The Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity highlight diversity as a campus priority and a necessity for maintaining institutional excellence. In addition, the awards process, event and publicity showcase campus diversity achievements and best practices to internal and external audiences; and enable students and academic and staff employees to communicate and document their achievements.

The Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity are sponsored by:
  • Chancellor's Office/Campus Diversity Officers
  • Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Staff Human Resources
  • Humanities Division

The 2017 selection committee for the Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity consists of the following representatives:

  • Ashish Sahni, Chancellor's Office
  • Miriam Greenberg, Senate Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity
  • Martin Berger, Academic Affairs
  • Angela Steele, Staff Advisory Board (SAB)
  • Teresa Maria Linda Scholz, Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (ODEI)
  • Leslie Marple, Academic Personnel Office (APO)
  • Steve Stein, Staff Human Resources (SHR)
  • Hector Navarro, Student Union Assembly, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Sara Nasab, Graduate Student Association, Officer
  • Ethan Hutchinson, Former Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity Recipient
  • Monika Egerer and Pauline Blaimont, Women in Science and Engineering
  • Christopher Chen, Humanities Division
  • Nancy Kim, At Large Member Familiar with Student Organizations and Programs

2016 Recipients of the Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity

  • David H. Anthony III, associate professor, History
  • Ethan Hutchinson, lead academic preceptor, Cowell College
  • Ricki Carr, lead senior analyst, Business & Administrative Services
  • Joanna Bucio Villaseñor, undergraduate student, Oakes College, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
  • Tisha Bohr, graduate student, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
  • GEODES (Geologists Encouraging Openness and Diversity in Earth Science)
  • People of Color Sustainability Collective
  • Lifetime Achievement Award 
    • Faye Crosby, professor, Psychology and provost, Cowell College
  • Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Award
    • Adina Paytan, research scientist, Institute of Marine Sciences

2015 Recipients of the Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity

  • Rita Mehta, assistant professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
  • Zia Isola, Director of Diversity Programs, CBSE Research Mentoring Institute
  • Jessica Manuela Loya, undergraduate student, Oakes College
  • Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) 
  • SOMECA (SOAR/Student Media/Cultural Arts and Diversity) 
  •  Lifetime Achievement Award
    • Susan Willats, Assistant Director, Transportation & Parking Services
  • Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Award
    • Charles McDowell, Professor, Computer Science
    • Adrienne Harrell, Director, Undergraduate Student Affairs, Baskin School of Engineering 

Past Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity Recipients 

Norma Klahn, professor of literature
Hiroshi Fukurai, professor of sociology & legal studies
Lesley-Reid Harrison, undergraduate student, College Ten
Wisdom O. Cole, undergraduate student, Oakes College
Jill Palmer Naiman, graduate student, astronomy and astrophysics
UCSC Women in Physics, department program, physics
Madlyn Norman-Terrance, assistant manager, Labor & Employee Relations

Triloki Pandey, professor of anthropology
Nandini Bhattacharya, lecturer of mathematics
Boreth Ly, assistant professor of history of art and visual culture
Alessandra Álvares, assistant department manager of Politics & Latin American & Latino Studies
Sophia Petraki, undergraduate student in molecular, cell and developmental biology
Grupo Folklórico Los Mejicas de UCSC, student organization

In addition, Rosie Cabrera, director of the Chicano Latino Resource Center, received a special award initiated by the Chancellor's Office and the Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. In recognition of her 29 years of service, including the last 10 years as director of "El Centro," Cabrera received the Chancellor's Special Recognition Award for Achievements in Diversity in Inclusion.

Gregory S. Gilbert, professor of environmental studies
Steve McKay, associate professor of sociology
Malika Bell, staff director of STEM diversity programs
Sharon Hibdon, staff research associate in physical & biological sciences
Sophia Petraki, undergraduate student in molecular, cell and developmental biology
Student Initiated Outreach, student organization

Professor Darrell Long
Assistant Professor Christine J. Hong
Teresa Valenzuela
Martha Valle
Donald G. Williams
Jasmine K. Syedullah
Janette Esmeralda Linares
Sociedad Estudiantil de Psicólog@s Avanzando (S.E.P.A.)
Third World and Native American Student Press Collective (TWANAS)
UCSC Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE)

Associate Professor Roberto Manduchi
Professor Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
Professor Charlie McDowell
Carlos Salas
Lizzie Yasser
April Goral
Alexander Whittlesey
Kathryn Koumatos
Leda Hernandez
Matthew Palm
Global Brigades

Professor Eugene Switkes
Professor Karen Tei Yamashita
Associate Adjunct Professor Adriane Steinacker
Shante Lewis
Educational Partnership Center (EPC)

Professor Richard Hughey
Associate Professor Ingrid Parker
Associate Professor Renee Tajima-Peña
Dean of Students Alma Sifuentes
Latin American & Latino Studies
UC Santa Cruz Dining

Associate Professor Gina Dent
Professor Russ Flegal
Julio Cardona
Minh Tran

Professor Martin Chemers
Professor Pradip Mascharak
Professor Barry Bowman
Professor Leo Ortiz
Bernice Frankl
Nancy-Cox Konopelski
Nandini Bhattacharya
Richard Baldwin
Nancy Kim
Center for Justice, Tolerance and Community
History of Consciousness

Professor Phil Crews
Alex Reveles
Dining Services University
Multicultural Engineering Program
Chicano/Latino Research Center

Professor Tara Madhyastha
Professor David Belanger
Professor Judy Yung
Professor Mary Silver
Ilse Kolbus and Jesse Magaña
VC Francisco J. Hernandez and Student Affairs Division
Library Cultural Diversity Committee