Associate Vice Chancellor/Chief Diversity Officer

Teresa Maria Linda Scholz (Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder) is Associate Vice Chancellor/Chief Diversity Officer here at UCSC. Dr. Scholz is first generation U.S. American and was a first-generation college student, raised in Guatemala and the United States. She positions herself as a Critical Latina/Latin American Transnational Feminist Scholar in Communication Studies, who is interested in understanding culturally situated theories of counterhegemonic enactments of rhetorical agency. As a scholar and Chief Diversity Officer, she is interested in identifying discursive and material counterhegemonic practices in social justice education, the connection between voice, victimhood, and agency, and the role that we all play in challenging, preventing, and resisting different forms of oppression while also co-creating and co-sustaining a healthy campus climate. Dr. Scholz has also completed a certification in mindful facilitation techniques led by Lee Mun Wah, through StirFry Seminars and Consulting. Dr. Scholz utilizes her academic training in Communication Studies, Women’s Studies and Latin American Studies along with the facilitation skills she has developed through StirFry Seminars and Consulting, to enhance her pedagogical practices and campus trainings, professional and educational development opportunities and discussions that address different forms of oppression, privilege, and power. Courses she has taught include Rhetoric of Race, Rhetoric of Class, Gender Communication and the Body, Critical Intercultural Communication, Persuasion, and Argumentation. Workshops she has led have focused on Microaggressions, Communicating Across Differences, Communication and Perception. Dr. Scholz has also been recognized for her teaching and service with awards including: Arts Advocate Award (Arts Division, UCSC, 2020); Outstanding Minority Achievement Recognition Award for Outstanding Faculty Member (EIU, 2015); Achievement and Contribution Award in Service (EIU, 2014); Student’s Distinguished Professor Award (EIU, 2013); Master Teacher and Faculty of the Year (Front Range Community College, 2002-2003).