Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity

The Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity honor and showcase people and programs that have made outstanding contributions to furthering diversity, inclusion and excellence at UC Santa Cruz. Eligible recipients include undergraduate and graduate students, student organizations, academic, and staff employees, campus units (e.g., offices, departments or divisions) and academic or administrative programs.

UCSC has many individuals and units that contribute significantly to our diversity and inclusion efforts. Some examples of achievements include: student-to-student outreach programs; developing cutting-edge recruitment programs; developing successful mentoring and retention programs; providing opportunities for academic and staff employees to advance in their careers; influencing peers on decisions that affect equal employment opportunity, affirmative action, inclusion and diversity at UC Santa Cruz; and advancing the understanding and field of diversity through research, publications and other media.

Diversity recognition and award programs offer important opportunities to promote and institutionalize diversity and honor those who actualize our Principles of Community. The Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity highlight diversity as a campus priority and a necessity for maintaining institutional excellence. In addition, the awards process, event and publicity showcase campus diversity achievements and best practices to internal and external audiences; and enable students and academic and staff employees to communicate and document their achievements.

2019 CAAFD Recipients

  • Nick Mitchell, Assistant Professor, Feminist Studies Department
  • Katherine L. Canales-Molina, Associate Director, SOAR/Student Media/Cultural Arts and Diversity (SOMeCA)
  • Sue Matthews, Associate Vice Chancellor of Colleges, Housing, and Educational Services
  • Sareil D. Brookins, Undergraduate student, Stevenson College
  • Saugher Nojan, Graduate student, Sociology Department
  • Services for Transfer and Re-Entry Students (STARS)
  • Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Award
    • Lise Getoor, Professor, Computer Science and Engineering Department
  •  Lifetime Achievement Award
    • Bettina Aptheker, Distinguished Professor, Feminist Studies Department

2019 CAAFD Selection Committee

The 2019 selection committee for the Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity consists of the following representatives:

  • Ashish Sahni, Chancellor's Office
  • Mark Anderson, Senate Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity
  • Herbie Lee, Academic Affairs
  • Aaron Jones, Staff Advisory Board (SAB)
  • Teresa Maria Linda Scholz, Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (ODEI)
  • Leslie Marple, Academic Personnel Office (APO)
  • Madlyn Norman-Terrance, Staff Human Resources (SHR)
  • Enrique Yarce, Student Union Assembly, Vice President Diversity and Inclusion
  • Ka-eul Yoo and Krisha Hernandez, Graduate Student Association
  • Christine Rosales, Graduate Student
  • Amelie Desmarchelier and Torie KleinWomen in Science and Engineering
  • Christopher Chen, Humanities Division
  • Nancy Kim, At Large Member Familiar with Student Organizations and Programs